‘Mario Kart Tour’ mobile racing is now available on Android and iOS

Advertisement

We’ve been waiting since January of last year to try Mario Kart on mobile devices, but it’s almost here. After some delays, Mario Kart Tour is launched today on devices compatible with Android (4.4 or higher) and iOS (10.0 or higher), and many people report that it is already installed on their iPhones and iPads. The bad news is that you can’t play until the servers open around 4AM ET / 1AM PT / 10AM CEST.

Until then, you can develop your strategy, evaluate the best ways to navigate your free game mechanics and make sure you’ve already created a Nintendo account: you’ll need one to play. Nintendo also compiled a five-minute video that explains how everything works, so you may want to watch now and avoid any wasted time that could be used to ruin someone’s day with a blue shell.

Advertisement

During the first two weeks, the tour will take place in a course based in New York City, with other places that will rotate later. Players can unlock the musician Mario and Pauline from Super Mario Odyssey as drivers during the first stop of the tour. The controls will cause players to slide their fingers across the screen to rotate and touch the screen to release the stored items. Go to the Google Play Store or Apple App Store to pre-register and you should have access as soon as the game starts in a few hours.

Update: The game is now live, and after some initial doubts from the server, it seems to be working fine. Let us know if you enjoy your game adapted to the touch screen in the comments below. You can see our first impressions of the game here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *